Kauai, COVID-19, and the Hawaii pre-arrival testing program

Kauai welcomes visitors on Otober 15
Kauai Kahuna Vacation Rentals

Hawaii Will Welcome Back Visitors on October 15

No Quarantine if you pre-test for COVID-19

We are delighted to report that, beginning on Octobeer 15, visitors to Kauai from the mainland will be able to avoid the mandatory 14-day quarantine by pre-testing for COVID-19 before travelling to Hawaii.  You will find swimming pools and beaches open, popular activities like boat tours operational, bars and restaurants welcoming customers.  Below is an overview of the COVID-19 pre-testing program requirements.

  • You must take your COVID-19 test within 72 hours (3 days) of your arrival to the state of Hawaii.  Testing is not available upon arrival.
  • You must take the NAAT type of test (Nucleic Acid Amplification Test), which is typically either a nasal swab or a throat swab.
  • Results must be analyzed at a CLIA certified lab.
  • Neither of the above requirements are unusual or hard to find.  You can go to a Kaiser Permanente health facility, CVS pharmacy, Long's Drugs, or Walgreen's pharmacy.  If you're going somewhere else, such as your doctor or a state testing site, check first to make sure your test will mee the requirements.
  • If your test results are not available when you arrive, you will be required to quarantine until you receive your test results.  Quarantine must be done at a hotel (vacation rentals are not legal quarantine locations).
  • Everyone in your traveling party must be pre-tested.  This includes children from 5 years of age and up..
  • Before you travel, visit the Safe Travels website and set up an account for each adult, so that you can obtain your required QR Codes and upload your negative COVID-19 test results. 
  • Because this information is subject to change, be sure to check the GO HAWAII website for any updates.

Other Important COVID-19 Traveler Info for guests at our Kauai vacation rentals

  • Face masks are required on Kauai and throughout the state of Hawaii when you go out in public (including beaches and poolside).  You may face a fine of up to $5,000 if you are not wearing a mask.  Be sure to bring an ample supply with you.  You'll need to wear a mask in airports and on airplanes as well.
  • You'll need to print out and complete the mandatory Hawaii Traveler Health Form before you arrive to the airport.  Every person in your travel party, including children, must have a separate form filled out.  If you refuse to complete the form, you won't be allowed to board your flight.  The form is available online
  • Temperature checks will be carried out at the airport, and you will not be permitted to board if your temperature is 100.4 F or higher.  Airline policy will determine whether or not you are eligible to receive a credit or refund for your flight.  Your vacation rental is not changeable or refundable if you are not allowed to board.  We urge all travelers to include trip insurance with your reservation.  Illness which prevents you fram traveling is generally covered by trip insurance.
  • Your Kauai vacation rental property will have been carefully cleaned for your arrival, including disinfection of all high-touch surfaces and a safety gap of at least 24 hours between guests.  If you want the additional protection of our complete COVID-19 sanitization service, using hospital-style disinfecting mist and sterilization with a UV-C light source, we are happy to provide this service for an additional fee of $125.  Please contact us at least 24 hours in advance to arrange additional disinfection.  
Categories: